Shameless Attempt at Traffic

I recently read that Ben Stein’s upcoming documentary Expelled was the biggest buzz in the blogosphere on a particular day in March…sorry, but after looking through my history folder in Explorer, I can’t find the website with the story that gives the exact date. I believe you can find out on Technorati…but I digress.

With so many folks being interested in this film about how “educators and scientists are being ridiculed, denied tenure and even fired – for the “crime” of merely believing that there might be evidence of “design” in nature” I figured I ought to jump on the bandwagon and write a post about it. The only problem is, I don’t really have anything to add to the conversation.

However, desperate for traffic to this blog as I am, I thought I would share something that those who are better informed than I am might have missed.  Scientific American’s 60-Second Science podcast recently devoted just over three minutes to a criticism of Stein’s film. Here’s what Steve Mersky had to say after seeing the film…twice.

If my shameless capitalization on a controversy to draw traffic to this blog works, would those of you who come by please leave your answer to the following questions:

Does Steve’s “rebuttal” effectively negate the filmmakers’ point? Does the rest of the quote really lead “to kind of the very opposite impression of Darwin that the filmmakers want you to take away”? Why do you think so?

Leave a comment

Filed under The Blog

Leave a Reply

