Loaded Question from My Oldest Child

Here’s an extra post just because I think my child is cute.

Sometimes, kids ask grown-ups a question which they want to be asked in turn. This is what my six-year old son did to me not long ago. The conversation went something like this:

“Dad, next year, what do you want for Christmas?”

“I don’t know. Why do you ask?”

“C’mon, what do you want for Christmas?”

“I guess I want everyone to be together and happy…?”

“Nooo! That’s for Jesus (to take care of) ! What do you want for Santa (to give you)?”

“Nothing I guess.” (long pause…I refused to be “baited”.)

“I know what I want.”

“Yeah, what’s that?”

“I want a new bike.”

I’m pretty sure he doesn’t expect Jesus to get it for him. How many of you think that’s a good thing? How many of you think that’s bad?

2 Comments

Filed under Suffer the Little Children

2 responses to “Loaded Question from My Oldest Child

  1. I like how he has Jesus things and Santa things separated. I think this will save him much frustration in the future.

  2. Welcome back Mike F.

    I thought so too. I hope we’re right.

Leave a Reply

