Where is God?

Mosaic is a community in LA where the noted speaker and writer Erwin McManus is the pastor. I’ve been listening to their podcast off and on for a while and occasionally I take a peek at the blog . After  listening to a sermon given not too long ago about the spiritual reality that affects our material world, I cruised over to the blog and found this comment.

To be honest, I think that the best thing to do would be to meditate on this for a while and then write something. In fact, it would be best to write something, edit it and then post. Instead, I’m just going to share what popped into my head.

“And lo, I am with you always. Even unto the end of the age.”

Pardon the archaic language but apparently that’s how it’s stored in my memory. Jesus said this (or something quite similar) before returning to God. Between then and now, Satan and those aligned (wittingly or not) with him have gone about testifying in a variety of ways that God has checked out. Jesus says, “I am with you.” Satan says “He’s outta here!” Someone is lying.

Honestly, there are times when it looks like Jesus is lying, doesn’t it? When you look at the evil that is crushing the world and the people in the world, it’s understandable to think that God has abandoned us. According to a recent news article, even Mother Teresa, God’s servant to the poorest of the poor in India for so many years, lived in a dark shadow dispairing of God’s presence in her own life.

Then there are times when light dispells shadow, when we are awestruck by an expected selfless act of kindness. Teresa’s life, regardless of her inner turmoil, is a testimony to the presence of God in the world, for she was motivated by nothing other than her desire to serve Him…even when she did not feel His love or appreciation of her devotion.

What other stories of God in the world can you tell if you stop long enough to think about it?

(NB: for the sake of “full disclosure”, I didn’t manage to write this post in a single go, but I assure you that I did not give it the meditation that I said that I think it deserves.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflection

Leave a Reply

